Long Summer

March 14, 2011

Pi day!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by dbmamaz @ 8:39 pm

I admit, I don’t usually make a big deal of holidays.  I don’t think I have ever incorporated a holiday in to my home school plans.  We don’t like unit studies and I’ve never even done a theme-day.  Until today.  3.14.  Pi day!  I don’t know what got in to me, but today I just had to do it up!

Of course, homeschooling involves lesson planning, and this particular lesson included some cooking as well as a trip to the library and some web searches, printing and other planning.  But Pi day was a success!

First we read the first Sir Cumference book.  Actually, Orion read it to Raven while I set up the table for the measuring project.  But Raven liked it so much, I had to read it to him again. 

Then it was time to discover Pi.   First, Orion measured various cylinders, and wrote down the circumference and diameters.  Raven looks thrilled, huh?

Orion measures can



 

.

Next, Raven used the calculator to find the ratio of the circumference to the diameter.  Orion helped a bit!

 Raven uses the calculator

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Then we read the Pi page from “Math, a book you can count on,” and I asked Raven to check on his computer what todays date was – Raven got the connection! 

We had a break for martial arts and lunch, and when we came back, Orion completed the worksheet from the link above, tried calculating the circumference of one item using the diameter and Pi from his calculator, 3.14, or 3, to see what a difference the decimals make.  And finally he did this worksheet, on practical applications of Pi.

Meanwhile, Raven helped me make his favorite pie – pumpkin!  He read as much of the recipe as he could, helped me with all the measuring, told me the final mixture looked like poo, and reminded me that I’d forgotten to set the timer – good catch!

And dinner on Pi day looks kinda like this:

We have chocolate tofu pudding pie with almond crust

*

We have lemon coconut gelatin pie with gfcf cookie crumb crust

*

we have gfcfef crustless pumpkin pie

and just for some balance . . .

hot dogs!!

.

.

MMMM, PIE!

1 Comment »

  1. How fun! I’m glad you all got so involved in the day.

    Comment by Obi-Mom Kenobi — March 15, 2011 @ 10:19 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

