Long Summer

January 30, 2010

My gluten free pantry

Filed under: Food journey — by dbmamaz @ 2:09 pm
Tags:

After posting my banana muffin recipe, I realized many people can’t imagine keeping that many flours in the house.  So I wanted to share my pantry with you all, so you can see what it takes.  (Big thanks to my daughter Heron for helping me stitch two pictures together.)

 

So would you like to know what all that stuff is?

1. Pre-mixed flour for making sandwich bread.  This mix is based on a recipes from the book  “Gluten Free Baking Classics”, which is cheap and easy to find at amazon.  My son can make the bread himself in the breadmaker, as long as I prepare the flour mix and have it on hand.

2. Tapioca Starch is a staple in most gluten-free baking, but it bothers me.

3. Jasmine rice (ok, not for baking, and I can’t even eat it right now, but we do use a lot of it!)

4. White rice flour: I bought this from the asian market, but my son seems to get sick every time i bake with it, so I’ve stopped using it for the most part. I cant eat it, anyways. 

5. Not just grits, but Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free grits! Yummy with sausage or with canned peaches and sunflower seeds!

6. Quinoa: Since I cant have rice, I often use this instead. Makes wonderful tabouleh!

7. Quinoa flour: a bit bitter, but a great texture.

8. Buckwheat flour: Buckwheat is not related to wheat. My local whole foods started carrying this white buckwheat flour, but I kinda miss the dark buckwheat flour. It had a heavier, nutty flavor .. even tho it did make everything look a dead gray color.

9. Corn starch is quite a staple for me. I havent found a good source of non-gmc corn starch.

10. Soy flour: Since my son tested allergic to chick peas, I subbed this for all recipes calling for chick pea flour. He recently tried eating hummus and seemed fine . . but I’m all in the habit of soy flour! I did once sub some hemp protein powder when I couldn’t find any soy flour in the store, and it had a nice, dark nuttiness – but soy flour is much cheaper :-O

11. Corn flour : This has become a real staple for me. It’s a good sub for rice flour in many recipes, except for the strong corn flavor. So I just mix in other flours.

12. Sweet rice flour is really a starch. I get this at the asian market, but it does not seem to bother my son. We mostly use it in the bread mix.

13. Millet flour is a staple in the bread mix

14. Xanthan gum bothers me, so I sub guar gum for most applications – but guar gum does not seem to work as well for yeast bread.

15. Quinoa flakes are a little like oatmeal. My son likes them cooked as a cereal with bananas, and I also put a small amount in my banana muffins for texture

16. Potato starch is a staple in almost all my baking. I wish it wasnt so expensive.

17. A really old bag of store-bought rice flour. this stuff is too coarse for almost anything imo, but the Gluten free Baking Classics recommends using it underneath pizza crust.

Flours not shown include almond and coconut, stored in the freezer, sorghum (bothers me, but used in the bread mix), and arrowroot starch, which I use in many places other recipes call for tapioca starch.  You can also see glimpses of my sugar, powdered sugar, popcorn, and who knows what else. 

Gluten-free baking isn’t for the disorganized, I tell you!

3 Comments »

  1. My mind is officially blown. This is organization of an epic scale. It will take me a little while to get my mind around this. Now I better understand your difficulties in meal planning!

    Comment by Dave — February 1, 2010 @ 4:32 pm |Reply

  2. I just started eating gluten-free a few months ago, and I was completely overwhelmed. I found out that my co-op sells Bob’s Red Mill GF All-Purpose flour, which is what I’ve been using lately and I like it pretty well. I want to learn how to use the different flours once I get the hang of it, but it works really well for me for the time being.

    Comment by Annelise — August 1, 2010 @ 6:05 pm |Reply

    • I actually couldnt use the mixes at first, because I wasnt using rice yet. I’m still not doing tapioca or xanthan. So i had to reinvent every wheel. If the mixes work for you, thats great. One thing I did to get to know the various flours first, was I made the mix for a crepe (soy milk and egg and sugar) and mixed enough for 1 pancake using all the different flours I had. this helped me understand the taste and texture of each flour. Good luck!

      Comment by dbmamaz — August 1, 2010 @ 9:42 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

