Long Summer

January 21, 2010

Is it balance, or attitude?

Filed under: bad days,Curriculum,Home School — by dbmamaz @ 2:51 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been struggling over the past few days with . . . .something about my home schooling, but I wasnt sure what.

First I felt overwhelmed spending so much time putting together my 13 yo’s curriculum: read a college biology text and watching dozens of video clips to find the best match; research social studies topics; sit with him to do grammar together; not to mention the microscope labs we kept skipping because i hadn’t gotten the materials.

Then I thought it was a problem of balance: how much time I spend prepping curriculum for 13 ds, vs doing work with 13 ds, vs actually doing work w 6 ds, vs letting 6 ds ‘just play’ while I clean or work on blog entries or keep refreshing fb looking for something interesting.

So today, i’m thinking . . . it’s just attitude. You know, those ‘bad’ days where you feel hopeless and like you’ll never get through it or you’re doing it all wrong . .. but the day was truly no worse than any other day? It’s all in your head. Ok, maybe I have more of those because of my various issues.

But today, i’m a day ahead on biology (because ds 13 was too sick for school yesterday), and that felt good. note to self: go back to prepping a whole chapter at a time on the weekends

Today I ‘forced’ the kicking and screaming ds6 to do 10 minutes of the maps unit study with me, and watch a new math video on discovery streaming. and he loved them both. Note to self: just do it.

Balance, attitude, working hard but keeping my head above water. Yeah, i guess it’s all of that.

But i’d still love a good high school level science curriculum which is TOTALLY secular and also doesn’t require a computer with internet access. 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Be grateful to just be fitting the science in a regular basis!

    Also, that is always the way it goes with planning and preparing the materials. 2hrs. of prep time = 1 hr. of actual work. I am a former biology teacher.

    Comment by ummtafari — January 21, 2010 @ 3:00 pm |Reply

  2. I’ve found that when I thought we were doing the least, I was usually doing the most. In my case, those annoying quarterly reports that our state requires actually came in handy for helping me realize we were doing a lot.

    Instead of thinking of it as getting “ahead” a day in a subject, just take each day as it comes and tick off the subjects you cover. Don’t forget that some subjects overlap. If my son is writing a research paper on martial arts, he is also reading to find information and he is learning history in discovering its origins. By writing one paper he’s covered reading, writing and history.

    It’s like exercise. If you do a little bit every day you aren’t going to be likely to see the immediate effects of it. The cumulative, continuous effort is what brings results.

    Thanks for your comment! I responded to it on my blog. 🙂

    Peace and Laughter!

    Comment by Cristina — January 22, 2010 @ 11:47 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

